Which Are The NBA Teams With Most Championships?

The name of the championship trophy of NBA is Larry O’Brien NBA Championship Trophy. Every year National Basketball Association (NBA) awards this trophy to the winner of NBA finals. However, until 1984 the name of this trophy was Walter A. Brown Trophy. Do you know which are the NBA teams with most championships?

Related Basketball Hoop Reviews:

A star player is largely judged by how many championships he has won. Achieving that feat certainly changes a player’s legacy. As he is rewriting the history, this title win very much ensures his place in the NBA

The same can be said about a team’s perspective. Generally, you look up to a team, check the history book and see how many trophies they’ve got in their cabinet. Then you make a judgement. And obviously winning a title in a season or repeating the feat in multiple times increases the prestige of a franchise which can lead to a plenty of tangible benefits

So, as the 2019 NBA finals have come to an end, let’s see which franchises have won most number of NBA championships

Here is the list of NBA champions for you:


Number of titles


Boston Celtics


1957, 1959, 1960, 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1966, 1968, 1969, 1974, 1976, 1981, 1984, 1986, 2008

Los Angeles Lakers


1949, 1950, 1952, 1953, 1954 (As Minneapolis)
1972, 1980, 1982, 1985, 1987, 1988, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2009, 2010

Golden State Warriors


1947, 1956 (As Philadelphia Warriors)
1975, 2015, 2017, 2018

Chicago Bulls


1991, 1992, 1993, 1996, 1997, 1998

San Antonio Spurs


1999, 2003, 2005, 2007, 2014

Philadelphia 76ers


1955 (As Syracuse Nationals)
1967, 1983

Detroit Pistons


1989, 1990, 2004

Miami Heat


2006, 2012, 2013

New York Knicks


1970, 1973

Houston rockets


1994, 1995

Atlanta Hawks



Washington Wizards


1978 (As Baltimore Bullets)

Oklahoma City Thunder


1979 (As Seattle Super Sonics)

Cleveland Cavaliers



Portland Trail Blazers



Milwaukee Bucks



Dallas Mavericks



Sacramento Kings


1951 (As Rochester Royals)

Toronto Raptors



So, these are the teams with most NBA titles. In total, there are 19 franchises who have won at least one NBA championship.

Three franchises did it by playing for different cities: Lakers, Warriors and 76ers. Only five teams have managed to win more than three championships: The Boston Celtics, Los Angeles Lakers, Chicago Bulls, San Antonio Spurs, and Golden State Warriors. Infact, these franchises have alone claimed nearly 70 percent of all titles

In the history of NBA, the Celtics have won 17 championships, the last one coming in the year of 2008. Next at the second place comes Los Angeles Lakers with 16 titles. They were known as Minneapolis Lakers from 1947 to 1960. The Lakers have competed in as many as 31 NBA championship series, most by any team

The Golden State Warriors are pretty much used to championship feeling nowadays. Till now, they have won six NBA championship in total. Two of them came as Philadelphia Warriors. Even in 2019, they reached into the NBA finals. But unfortunately they came up short against Toronto Raptors at the finals. The recent success of the Warriors is absolutely praiseworthy. So, it is Celtics and Lakers who are steadily placed right at the top rank of NBA in terms of lifting the title

Chicago Bulls have won six Titles. Legendary Michael Jordan won all of them in the 1990s. the Spurs ranks fifth in place with five titles. They were founded in 1967 but joined NBA later in 1976. There are three other teams (Heat, Pistons, 76ers) who are tied with three titles. New York Knicks and Houston Rockets have won two title apiece

Celtics was led well by Bill Russell. From 1957 to 1969 they had won 11 NBA championships. In the 1980s when legendary Larry Bird was drafted to Boston, he ultimately led them to title in 1981, 1984 and 1986. Boston Celtics had 15 title to their name, most at that time compared to Lakers who had won 10 by 1986. Though since then Celtics would face a championship drought of over 20 years. Their recent title came in 2008 when Paul Pierce, Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen would lead Celtics to their glory days once again

11 NBA franchises have not been able to make their entry into the NBA Champions list yet:

1. Brooklyn Nets
2. Charlotte Hornets
3. Denver Nuggets
4. Indiana Pacers
5. Los Angeles Clippers
6. Memphis Grizzlies
7. Minnesota Timberwolves
8. New Orleans Pelicans
9. Orlando Magic
10. Phoenix Suns
11. Utah Jazz

So, here you go. These are the NBA teams without championships

Articles you would love to read:

  • Updated July 13, 2020
  • Blog
Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply: