How Many Games Are There In An NBA Season?

The 2019-20 NBA season has just started. It is the 74th season of the National Basketball Association (NBA). So, how many matches will team Boston Celtics play in this season? We know you’re a basketball freak. So, answer me. OK let me ask you relatively an easier question. Do you now how many games are there in an NBA season?

Related Basketball Hoop Reviews:

NBA is a collection of 30 teams. All 30 teams are divided into two conferences with three divisions apiece. Each division consists of five teams. This means you get 15 teams in each conference

There are couple of phases in a single NBA season:

a. Preseason
b. Regular Season
c. Post Season
d. Playoffs
e. Finals

Actually, this season is regarded as practice games for the teams. This is the time when players try to get in shape and prepare themselves ahead of the season. Thus, teams are given opportunity to showcase their potential and analyze their playing strategy once more. There are eight preseasons game for each team

b. Regular Season

How many games are played in the NBA regular season? During the regular season, all NBA teams play as many as 1230 games between them

Why are there 82 games in an NBA season?
-In a regular season each team plays 82 games. Among them they play 41 at home and remaining 41 games in away. The NBA schedule allows each team to play with each other for at least once

A single team will face opponents in it’s own division four times a year (4 X 4=16 games). Then, they will play with 6 teams from other two divisions of it’s conference four times (6 X 4=24 games). After that they play with remaining 4 teams from it’s conference three times (4 X 3=12 games). Finally, they go on to play with all the teams in other conference twice apiece (15 X 2=30 games)

 In February, the regular season gives a break to celebrate the Annual NBA All-Star game. Two teams are formed. Each team consists of a 12 player squad. Fans give their votes. Top vote getter in each conference are named captains. They also get to choose rest of the All-Star starter. Coaches decide the remaining 14 All-Star players. 

Generally, NBA regular season begins in the last week of October and ends up around the middle of the April

c. Post Season:

The All-Star game features best players from the league. It’s a mix of the league’s star players. This is actually done to regain public attention to the league. Fans select the starting line up and coaches choose the reserves. There is also a trade that happens shortly after the All-Star break.

So, now the regular season is over. And in this period of time, the voting starts for individual awards as well as selection of the honorary, league-wide & post-season teams

d. Playoffs:

Playoffs begin in April. Top eight teams in each conference regardless of divisional alignment, compete for the Larry O’Brien Championship Title. Here the playoffs follow a tournament format. Seeds are awarded to teams in strict order of regular season record. First seed plays against the eighth seed, second seed plays the seventh seed, third seed plays against the sixth seed and fourth seed plays the fifth seed.

Each team plays in a best of seven series. One team advances to the next round and other team is eliminated. So, here we get four teams in a single conference. They are engaged in semifinals before the actual semifinal. So, four becomes two. Then of the final two, one team emerges as the winner of that conference.

e. Final Season:

The final playoff round is also a best of seven series between the victors of both conferences. This is famously known as NBA finals. It is usually held in June. So, two teams can play up to 110 games if they reach into the finals

Schedule for 2019-20 NBA season

As far as the 2019-20 NBA season is concerned, the preseason began on September 30,2019 and ended on October 18,2019. The regular season began on October 22,2019 and will end on April 15,2020. The playoffs are scheduled to begin on April 18,2020. This will end with NBA finals in June 2020. The 2020 NBA All-Star game will be held on February 16,2020 in Chicago, Illinois

Similar posts you would love to check out:

  • Updated 6 months ago
  • Blog
Click Here to Leave a Comment Below 0 comments

Leave a Reply:

3 × one =